Most Londoners like to read books on the underground

2475575298_b9c939297c

Like most Londoners I spend a lot of time on the London underground, and I noticed most people like to reading in the underground. Most Londoners spend about 60 minutes in the underground back to home, when then finish their work. Sometimes, they need to stand in the busy time, but most people still reading books or newspapers.

Today as usually, when I on the way back to Wembley park station from central London, I had a chance to talk with tow ladies, when she finish to read book. I noticed she got both paperbacks and kinder with her, so I was just wondering why she carries different stuff for reading. She explained she put most reading articles on kindle and it is more convenience for her, but once her eyes felt tired with reading kindle, then she will change to read paperbacks. And she emphasises that the point is she needs to read on the underground.

When this lady takes off the underground, I took a chance to chat with the other lady who stands beside me. I talked with her and said I even feel dizzy when I stand on the underground, especially in the busy time, so I am really surprise she can enjoy the reading even though she stands on the underground. She said she used to be and she really enjoy the time on the underground, whatever the underground is crowd or not. She said she can take this time to do lots of reading and think about nothing. After finishing her daily work, the time she spends on the underground makes her feel relax, because when she backs to home, she needs to take care of her children and playing with them.

In fact their answers are really surprised me, I never thought they actually enjoy the time on the underground and enjoy do some reading. Because this situation is basically impossible to happen in China. Most people concentrate on playing mobile phone on underground or just chatting with other people. But there is the other important reason is the underground in China are very crowd, there are too many people to stand, you even feel hard to get into the underground, so reading books is actually impossible to happen.

It is interesting to make notice on your surroundings, sometimes a silly thing will makes you think about the cultural different. So I am interested to be a spy, and just exit around different people and different places.

Leave a comment